Each year, the Irish Car of the Year judging panel conducts a comprehensive assessment of all eligible vehicles. Members of the jury road-test each car individually (at least one road test per juror per vehicle) at official launch events hosted by car brands or on week-long drive appraisals. 

The ICOTY jury also hosts a refresher drive day at Mondello Park in Co. Kildare, each October, giving jurors an additional opportunity to familiarise themselves with eligible models. Vehicles are judged against the following criteria:

  • New technology / ideas
  • Safety factors
  • Equipment level, fuel economy, practicality
  • Environmental impact (emissions, recyclability)
  • Use of space, comfort, ventilation, layout
  • Build quality, fit and finishing
  • Ride, dynamic qualities, road-holding, steerability, manoeuvrability
  • Engine, ease of driving, braking
  • Price, warranty, dealer network, after-sales service
  • Driver / user feedback

Once all vehicles have been comprehensively assessed, the ICOTY jury compiles a shortlist of contenders for the 11 category prizes plus overall title of Irish Car of the Year.


Ian Beatty twitter
Martin Brennan
Brian Byrne twitter
Leah Carroll twitter
Anthony Conlon
Breda Corrigan
Sean Creedon
Padraic Deane
Justin Delaney twitter
Cathal Doyle twitter
Robbie Farrell twitter
Bob Flavin twitter
Mark Gallivan twitter
John Galvin twitter
Philip Hedderman twitter
Suzanne Keane twitter
Daragh Keaney twitter
Caroline Kidd twitter
Paul White twitter
Hugh Maguire
Sinead McCann twitter
Martin McCarthy
John Mitchell twitter
Michael Moroney
Gerry Murphy twitter
Bernard Potter
Joe Rayfus twitter
Michael Sheridan twitter
Austin Shinnors
Jarlath Sweeney twitter
Tony Toner twitter
Trish Whelan
David Walshe twitter